Marcus Bontempelli pumps both fists and yells in delight

Everything you need to know about this year’s Brownlow Medal

The AFL’s highest individual award, the Brownlow Medal, will be awarded on Monday night to the league’s best and fairest player of the 2023 season.

A number of the modern greats of the game — plus a youngster poised to dominate the league for a generation — are in contention for the medal, while the red carpet will undoubtedly attract its usual attention and fanfare.

Here’s what you need to know about footy’s big night.

When is the 2023 Brownlow Medal?

The Brownlow Medal count will be held on Monday, September 25. It will begin at 8pm AEST.

This marks a return to its traditional timeslot, after a temporary shift to Sunday night in 2022 due to Queen Elizabeth II’s funeral.

How can I watch the Brownlow?

The event will be broadcast live on Channel Seven and streamed via 7plus from 7:30pm AEST.

You can also follow the count with ABC Sport’s live blog on the night.

Who are the favourites to win?

Collingwood’s young dynamo Nick Daicos was considered the frontrunner for most of the season, until an injury ended his home and away campaign early.

Nick Daicos was the favourite for most of the season, before suffering an injury in round 21.(Getty Images: Darrian Traynor)

It will be fascinating to see if Daicos has a strong enough lead to hold off the challengers during what was effectively a four-game absence.

Western Bulldogs captain Marcus Bontempelli will likely be in the mix, as will Brisbane Lions skipper and 2020 winner Lachie Neale.

Melbourne’s Christian Petracca and Port Adelaide’s Zak Butters are also considered strong chances.

How does the Brownlow work?

In each game of the regular season, umpires award votes to the three best players on the field.

The best player is given three points, the second best two points and the third best one point.

Marcus Bontempelli pumps both fists and yells in delight

Marcus Bontempelli is one of the favourites for the Brownlow.(Getty Images: Robert Cianflone)

The votes are kept secret, and are revealed on a round-by-round basis at the ceremony.

The player who ends with the most votes at the end of the season is crowned the Brownlow Medal winner.

The award is for the fairest and best players, so those who have been suspended for a week or more during the season are ineligible.

A total of 24 players across the 18 teams have been served a ban this year.

In the event of a tie, the Brownlow can be shared, as was the case in 2012 when Sam Mitchell and Trent Cotchin shared the medal.



Author: Russell White